This is what it is all about.

As a girl you spend your life wondering: who will be at your wedding; where will it be; what will the flowers look like; will you like the ring; and most importantly, who will be standing next to you. It all boils down to one thing: family.

I have never been one to shy away from being independent, being on my own, doing things solo. But, at the end of the day, the dating, the relationships, the fights and the laughs: it’s all about building a family. Maybe it is not about that for everyone. For me, it is. I know I will have kids, it’s not a question. And there is no question about whether it will be singular either.

I am very fortunate to have two wonderful parents who have done an amazing job of raising me. Regardless of whether the means were there, I do not remember a time when I was told ‘no’ or even ‘not now.’ But, most importantly, I have two people by my side that are so loving, supportive and amazingly incredible. The obstacles they have overcome, the life they have build for the three of us, it all still leaves me speechless. There is no doubt in my mind that I am where I am today because of them, that I keep striving to be better because of them.

Someone recently called me ‘dumb’ for taking a flight home that returned to London the morning I start a new job. I understand the attitude: it’s not worth risking not getting to your new job on time; it’s not worth being jet lagged on your first day; it’s not worth risking not even making your first day of work. Well actually, it is all worth it to spend an extra day with my parents. The risk does not even factor into the equation.

It was then that I realised it really is all about family. Because when people wonder what life is all about, this is it. It is landing at an airport and knowing there are two people waiting for you who love you unconditionally no matter what happens, it is about knowing that when you get home there will be a small white Maltese Bichon who will lick your face into oblivion. Forget the job, the money, the gifts, it’s all about family.

About bargirl2010

Just another law student fighting to make it as a barrister...but first deciding whether to embark on the journey. View all posts by bargirl2010

Leave a comment