Cross-roads

We find ourselves at a cross-roads more times in a day than we often wish to acknowledge. The burger or the salad? The Jubilee line or the DLR? An ice cream or a coffee? The list goes on. We only really recognise we’re making a choice when it concerns an important aspect of our lives: career, family, love, big purchases. When it comes to one of those things the world depends on the decision we make.

I’m not one for decision-making, if I could I would pay someone to analyse all of the possibilities and to pick the best path for me. It doesn’t work that way. Because paralegalling doesn’t pay enough to allow me to hire someone, but also because, at the end of the day, it’s more fun to sit in the mess you make.

When it comes to love, I have sat in plenty of messes. I’ve cried over them. I’ve been angry over them. I’ve felt foolish over them. That’s the beauty of the thing. But, I have never made a conscious decision. I have let myself, in a sense, drift away, because things were easy, pleasant and because I didn’t have to put work into finding something better.

I’m not willing to float, drift, meander on by. I want to make an active choice. Someone who fulfills all of the criteria, someone who makes me happy, someone who makes me smile in the morning.

The same applies to pupillage. Don’t accept a pupillage now that you are going to hate, moan about. Don’t accept a pupillage at a place you will hate every day, a place that will drain you. Pick that place that drives you to be better, pushes you to work harder, makes you smile through the sleepless nights and foodless days. Find that one place, or that one person that makes you realise you can’t sleep because FINALLY reality is better than your dreams. (special thanks to Dr. Seuss)

About bargirl2010

Just another law student fighting to make it as a barrister...but first deciding whether to embark on the journey. View all posts by bargirl2010

Leave a comment